ICOBM 2016

ICOBM 2014 Report: Young Scientists Awards

ICOBM-2014 gave much emphasis on the development of budding and talented young scientists, in hope to create new opportunities for better solutions to both national and international challenges. It is also important to appreciate young scientists for their contributions in science and creativity towards the generation of new ideas. To achieve these, ICOBM-2014 has incorporated four (4) Young Scientist Awards; three (3) for oral presentations and one (1) for poster presentation.

The Young Scientist Awards for oral presentation was sponsored by Want Want Group, China and Asian Probiotics & Prebiotics Corporation, China, with a top prize of Eur 500 for the categories of 1) Agri- & Aquaculture, 2) Health & Medical Applications, and Omics & Molecular Technologies, and 3) Food Sciences & Technology, and Nutrition & Nutraceuticals.

The list of competing young scientists were:

The winners were:

The Young Scientist Awards for poster presentation was sponsored by the International Committee on Food Microbiology and Hygiene (ICFMH), with a top prize of Eur 500.

In addition to the various young scientist awards,ICOBM-2014 has also organized the “Cocktail with the Experts” event, a session to facilitate networking opportunities among young and senior scientists to exchange knowledge and experiences, and also to promote career advancement in science as the choice for our youths. The event was sponsored by the Young Scientists Network – Academy of Sciences Malaysia (YSN-ASM), set in an informal ambience with the theme of HAWAIIAN, and was held on 28 May 2014, 7.00 pm – 9.00 pm, in the Garden of Parkroyal Hotel.

All of our invited speakers and advisors served as guest of honours, while a total of 40 young scientists were selected from the pool of oral and poster awards candidates, selected based on their scope of research and potential contribution to science. The event was successful with much positive feedback from both young scientists and renowned experts, and it is likely to be a flagship event for future ICOBM conferences.

Prof. Dr Liong Min Tze, the Chairman of ICOBM-2014 and also a YSN Exco member, to introduced YSN-ASM’s flagship programs and activities, and encouraged the participation of young scientists as members. Prof Wibool Piyawattanametha, a Global Young Academy (GYA) co-founding member was also present, to introduce GYA, and talked on the importance of national science/young academies in the sustainability of science.